Lockerbie Ice Rink - John McColl Wells Trophy

The final of the John McColl Wells Trophy sponsored by Jayne & Billy Wells was held last Tuesday at Lockerbie ice rink between the rinks skipped by Dave Stewart & Sandra Jappy. Stewart's rink led by five shots to one after four ends before Jappy scored a three on the fourth end, however, the comeback was short lived with Stewart scoring three shots on the last two ends to win by eight shots to four. The winning rink consisted of Dave Stewart, Roy Broatch, Marilyn Muir & Niall Smith. The runners up were Sandra Jappy, Terry Benest, Pete McGarrie & Danial Cowan. The presentation of prizes was overseen by Marion Murdoch representing the ice rink management committee. Marion thanked Jayne & Billy Wells for their continued sponsorship of the competition before asking Mitchell Jardine (great grandson of the donor) to present the prizes.

Photo of the winning rink receiving the trophy (left to right), Roy Broatch, Mitchell Jardine, Dave Stewart, Marilyn Muir & Niall Smith.